The 49ers Hall of Fame – fan vote!

The San Francisco 49ers have just announced that their annual selection for the Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame will be determined by the fans. Fans will have until July 15, 2011 to select one of the three finalists: Roger Craig, George Seifert and Gordy Soltau. My vote goes to the old Head Coach, Seifert. Roger Craig lived in the world of Joe Montana, and I recall him dropping some key fumbles in important games. At the goal line. Which cost the 49ers the game.

“The 49ers Hall of Fame is very special to me, my family and our organization,” said 49ers President and CEO Jed York. “We wanted to reward our fans for their tremendous loyalty by involving them in this very important and special process. I am so proud to know that our fans will have a significant role in building the 49ers Hall of Fame for years to come.”

In addition to the fan selection, 49ers Ownership will be able to select at least one inductee each year. Those people named as finalists in the fan voting process will not be considered in the Ownership selection. Both inductees will be honored throughout the weekend of November 12-13, 2011, highlighted by a ceremony at halftime of the 49ers home game versus the New York Giants.

To be considered for the Hall of Fame, the finalists must meet the following criteria: outstanding production and performance on the field, key contributions to the team’s success, and/or the embodiment of the spirit and essence of the San Francisco 49ers.

To vote, please visit this link on the 49ers’ website. Courtesy of the 49ers, here are the backgrounds of the three finalists. Continue reading “The 49ers Hall of Fame – fan vote!” The 49ers Hall of Fame &#…